Speaking down upon the South Lawn in a pre-Memorial Day event

Leadership Means Setting An Example

Did President Trump go to church Sunday?

Eric J Scholl
3 min readMay 25, 2020

--

No? Unless I missed something (in which case I’ll immediately delete this piece). That’s kind of a surprise, no? Considering he spent a chunk of last week threatening governors if they refused to immediately let places of worship throw open their doors. “Right now. For this weekend”, he insisted in a statement in the White House Briefing Room, taking no questions after. “If they don’t do it, I will override the governors”.

I’m not going to try to argue today whether places of worship should or shouldn’t be open. I’m not even going to try to suggest if they can or can’t conceivably be opened safely. Or if Trump even has the right to override “the governors”. At the same time, I’m not sitting here relishing the fact that they are shut down in many places, as Trump’s press secretary has condescendingly suggested of the media.

The “Reporter” in this case is Reuters’ Jeff Mason

While I consider my own religious beliefs to be private, I do feel compelled to publicly let on that they’re very important to me. Right now, maybe more than ever. Which is why I make a point of regularly participating in worship online these days.

--

--

Eric J Scholl

Peabody award winning journalist. Streaming media pioneer. Played @ CBGB back in the day. Editor-In-Chief "The Chaos Report" www.thechaosreport.com